Blowing the Dust Off

It’s been 3 months and 12 days since I last wrote a blog post.

I’m not quite sure why I took such a long sabbatical.  It wasn’t a lack of topics to right about I think I just needed a respite.  I seemed to be getting bored with the writing process.  I was always able to find something else to do other than sit down and write.  I guess it just wasn’t the time to put anything down.

I missed it at times yet I still couldn’t get my mind motivated enough to put thoughts to keyboard.  Maybe I was looking for reasons not to write.  Maybe I was burned out a bit.  I had written almost 900 entries in just about four years.  A lot may have been mindless drivel but after reading through a few dozen entries this morning, I realized how much fun I had writing.  I know I’m not the best but I do enjoy it and in a way, it is therapeutic.

So why today?  I can tell you it’s not because of the remembrance of 9/11 that’s been all over the news this morning.  I actually think it’s because of what’s happening tonight.

As many of my loyal readers know (well, those that are left) I am a high school coach.  This time of year, I am the JV girls/varsity assistant soccer coach at Hale-Ray and tonight is our first game.  There are very few things that get me fired up all day, but the opening of any season is always a special day.  As the years have gone by, I think I have enjoyed writing about the kids I coach more than anything else.

Every team I’ve coached each seem to have their own unique personality.  This one is no different.  I’ve been around teams that truly hate one another or at least a specific few.  This team has none of that.  Each girl fits in with every other girl.  They have fun together, laugh together and work hard together.

I don’t have a crystal ball so I can’t tell what lies in store for us this season.  One thing I do know is this team has been a pleasure to coach during the preseason and have worked really hard to get better.  What they lack in talent they make up for in want.

I don’t know why I have a special feeling about these girls.  I’m not predicting anything.  I just got a hunch that they could do something special and that journey begins tonight.

Good Luck girls and Go Noises!

Leave a Reply

