Countdown Week

There are a few days during the year that I absolutely get out-and-out giddy about.  Opening day in baseball, first Michigan game, first tailgate, 1st day of vacation and now you can add Red Hot Chili Peppers concert to that list.

Photograph of the Red Hot Chili Peppers featur...

Photograph of the Red Hot Chili Peppers featured in By the Way ' s album booklet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Saturday, we’re heading down to beautiful Newark, NJ for my 1st Peppers concert in like 7 years.  The last one we saw was up in Amherst and it left a sour taste in my mouth.  The sound was awful in the arena and frankly, their performance left a lot to be desired.  I’m hoping this show makes up for it and I think it will.

The Peppers have been my band for as long as I can remember.  I love their funk/L.A rock sound from the early ’80’s.  With each album they matured as musicians and as songwriters and their high point came in the early ’90’s with Blood Sugar Sex Magic, arguably one of the top-5 rock albums of that decade.  As time passed, their music just keeps evolving and growing with time.  I love that I can listen to songs off of their first album and off of their latest and still appreciate where they have been, where they are now and where they are going.

So, to honor this great band and to countdown the days till the concert, I will be giving you MY top-5 Peppers songs.  These aren’t necessarily their top songs just the ones I like the most.

Without further ado, here is #5:

 

One Response to “Countdown Week”

  1. […] Countdown Week (brainofjay.wordpress.com) 0.000000 0.000000 Share this:FacebookTwitterDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

