April Fooled

Yuengling Lager

Yuengling Lager (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Normally, I’m a big fan of April Fool’s Day shenanigans.  I enjoy the classic snake in a can of nuts, or the ol’ saran wrap over the toilet seat even the ink in the coffee mug routine.  Yesterday though, a joke was pulled that hit a little too close to home.  Sometimes a joke can just go to far and it hits ya right in the gut.

As readers of this blog now, I am a big time lover of beer.  In fact, I consider it one of my life staples along with air, water and baseball.  One of my favorite beers is Yuengling and as many of you know it is not for sale in Connecticut for a number of reasons.  Well, there is a website out there called “Bring Yuengling to New England” and yesterday they posted this article:

Yuengling Building New Brewery in Worcester

Posted by on Apr 1, 2012 in News | 0 comments

D.G. Yuengling & Son, Inc. announced today their plans to build a new brewing facility in Worcester, MA. Yuengling hopes to have the plant operational by year’s end and employ up to 300 people. The Massachusetts facility will provide the Yuengling product line to the 6 New England states. Currently, due to capacity concerns, Yuengling has been unable to meet the potential demand in New England and therefore does not distribute east of New York. The Worcester Brewery will serve the New England and Upstate New York markets.

“I’m happy to be able to finally bring our products to New England, ” said Dick Yuengling, President of D.G. Yuengling & Son, Inc. “Worcester is centrally located in the region. A new facility will allow us to create enough product for the New England market without over burdening our existing infrastructure. It’s a win – win for us and our devoted Yuengling fans in New England.”

If you’ve read this far, you deserve a lager. No such luck.
April Fools!

I screamed out to my family when I read it come across my tweetdeck feed not even thinking about what day it was.  That brief moment of joy was washed away with about 30 seconds of web searching.

So my one question is Why?  Why would anyone use something so near and dear to our hearts as a practical joke?  Who’s that cruel?  I guess therein lies the genius.

Still though, way to cruel.

7 Responses to “April Fooled”

  1. Beer is ALWYS too serious a subject for April fool’s pranks.
    good post
    Rob

  2. I’d go with golf clubs but I get ya

  3. Sandra Marsh Says:

    Omg that was to funny!!! I didn’t realize how lucky we are living in pa.

  4. Vidub…

    […]April Fooled « Brain of Jay[…]…

Leave a Reply

