Super Bowl 46

It’s that time of year again when I give my fearless prediction for the big game.  I don’t wanna brag (but I will), I’ve successfully picked the winner of the Super Bowl every year since I started this blog and I believe that I also correctly picked the game according to the line, so you could have won a ton of money with my prognostication.  Want proof?  Well here you go: 2008 2009 2010 2011.  Not bad huh?

Now there is a lot riding on my choice.  The hopes and dreams of two cities, two sets of fan bases and one region lies with my pick.  This is quite a burden but I’m just the guy to do it.  I love a challenge.  I have no problem stepping up to the plate and swinging for the fences.  Wait, should I be using a different sports analogy here…….. oh well it’s done and computers don’t have a delete button.  I’m sure some of you are worried that by pick will be somewhat biased.  I don’t know where that comes from.  I look at these games with blinders on.  I try to be as fair and balanced as Fox News.

So lets dive into Super Bowl 46.  I think that the games lies in the hands of the weakest component of the two teams: their defenses.  We all know how great the Giants d-line can be.  So far in the playoffs they have been nothing short of phenomenal.  They destroyed Matt Ryan, humbled Aaron Rodgers and abused Alex Smith.   the Patsies o-line is pretty good, but I think the giants can bring the heat and have enough guys to rotate in.  The one caveat is if the Patriots play this short yardage/quick tempo passing game, negating the rush and keeping the tired d-line on the field.  that could spell doom for New York.

The Patriots defense has been much maligned all season.  They’ve ranked last or close to last in a lot of major categories.  Their d-line was fantastic against the Ravens in the AFC title game but still let Joe Flacco have his way through the air and Joe Flacco is no Eli Manning.  If the Giants o-line can slow down Vince Wilfork and company just a little, I think Cruz, Nicks and company are going to have a huge day.

The Giants will try to establish the run more than the Patriots will but at the end of the day, the QB’s will rule the day.  I expect both to have well over 300 yds passing and three td’s.  This will not be a game for the lovers of defense but I do feel the Giants defense will come up with a few more big plays and in the end, that’s where the difference will lie.

For the 2nd time in four years, Tom Coughlin and the New York Giants will get the upper hand on Belichick and the New England patriots.

Final score Giants 34-31!!!

 

LETS GO BIG BLUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One Response to “Super Bowl 46”

  1. Want to read live commentary about Super Bowl XLVI? …not the game but the commericals? Stop by http://aftertheperiod.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

