Not One to Bitch but…

Usually, I am pretty good at dealing with life’s injustices.  I’m not one to complain about things being fair or unfair.  I really try to push through and see it for what it is, an opportunity to get better/stronger, etc etc.

Last night was one of those moments happened.  Something that really pissed me off at the time but now that I can look back on it, I know will only make us better.

We played Portland HS in a basketball game last night.  My JV team had struggled coming into the game,  we had managed to lose all five of our games so far this young season.  I have a fairly inexperienced team and I was looking at this game as a potential win.  unfortunately, the Portland JV’s had some really good players and we came up just short.  I was kinda pissed off at my kids until the starting lineups were announced for the Portland varsity team.  As it turns out, three JV starters also started varsity and two more were the 1st off the bench for them.  Mine and my teams view quickly changed about our JV loss.

It occurred to all of us that we just lost to a varsity team.  Not a great varsity team mind you, but one that had played together a lot.  The thing that pisses me off is that you had varsity starters play an entire JV game.  It’s not that it’s not fair, it’s just not right.  JV sports is designed to develop athletes for the next level.  I firmly believe that in basketball especially, if you have a kid who is starting varsity he should not be playing with the JV’s. 

I have a couple of kids that play on both teams but if they are going to start for the varsity squad, they don’t play JV that night.  If they did, that would just mean they are taking up a spot that another kid could play in.  Now I know that some schools aren’t graced with a lot of kids in their program, so I understand that situation.  Portland, however, didn’t have that problem.  They had plenty of kids to fill out both rosters without using varsity starters as jv starters. 

Now, if you are that hungry for a JV win, whatever.  Trust me, no one is hungrier for one than my team and myself but it’s going to come the right way.  It’s going to come through hard work, blood, sweat and tears.  It’s going to come from my JV guys playing as one, not by pulling down some varsity players to give us an edge.

I hope that JV win was so important last night Portland.  It’ll only be used as a way to make us stronger.  I know, in the end we’ll be better off for it. 

Doing the right thing always seems to pay off in the end.

One Response to “Not One to Bitch but…”

  1. I wonder how many parents (on both sides) noticed that. If this is a normal procedure for Portland’s coaching staff, seems that their subsequent years are going to be filled with inexperienced players.

Leave a Reply

