No App For This?

Image representing iPad as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

I recently just joined the wonderful world of the iPad.  I mulled over the purchase for like a month but I am very happy I went through with it.  It will be such a great tool while coaching.  I can use it for practice, games and stats afterward.  I’ve also found it has some great apps for kids.  There are so many educational choices to keep Avery entertained for hours (not that I’m letting her play on it for hours, I don’t need DCF knocking on my door).

The one thing thought that really bothers me is the app store.  There are so many great apps for coaching that it’s hard to choose between them.  Also, most of them aren’t free.  They range from as little as $.99 to as much as $19.99.  The tough thing is you aren’t really sure what you are getting until you actually purchase the app and try it for yourself.  It’s a little risky.  Even after one reads all the user reviews, you still don’t know if it will work for you until you actually use it.  So, if you paid for an app and it doesn’t fit your needs, you are kinda screwed.

Apple and Google should give their customers some sort of grace period.  Let a user purchase an app, try it out for a week lets say and if they keep it, then charge ’em.  If they don’t, let ’em delete it from the device with no charge applied. 

It only seems like the right thing to do.  If I bought an item from a store and I was not satisfied with it, I have the option of returning it for either store credit or my money back.  Why can’t this be the same in the app store or the android market?

I’m sure I can’t be the only one who has gone through this.  It makes me kinda apprehensive when it comes to buying apps now.  I’ve already deleted one that cost $2.99 because it just wasn’t useful.  While it’s only $3 after a while it can add up.  Plus, I’m not a big fan of spending money on things that I won’t use (well, at least now….). 

Let’s make this happen Apple and fix this!

Leave a Reply

