The V Show

Today, the Boston Red Sox FINALLY name their next manager.  All of you have heard by now that Bobby Valentine will be the next manager on Yawkey Way. 

To be honest, I’m still don’t know how I feel about this.  I don’t get the “warm-fuzzies” like I did with Francona.  For some reason, Tito made sense to me.  Just something about him clicked with me.  I really can’t tell you what it was but I just knew it was the right move.

This time around, I just don’t know.  Yeah, he’s been succesful at all his stops, but at what costs?  He wore out his welcome relatively quickly in Texas and New York.  Then he went to Japan and to his credit, completely dominated Japanese baseball.  In a way, he Americanized it a bit and in the process, Japan players infiltrated MLB more and more. 

Bobby V just has a way about him.  Some people love it, others hate it.  Me, I’ve always been rubbed the wrong way with him.  Never really liked the way he worked on TV.  He seemed to always come across as a know-it-all.  I guess he just never had the way to pass along great info without coming across as a douche. 

There is no doubt he knows the game.  I’m just not sure if he’ll fit in Boston.  Normally I would trust the Sox brass that they’ve made the right call, but these guys have done nothing yet to win me over.  I trusted Theo and Co. in 2003.  He proved that he had an eye for talent.  Ben Cherington has done nothing yet.  He won’t last long as GM if his first major hire blew up in his face.

I hope beyond hope that it all works out.  I want Bobby Valentine to succeed in Beantown.  The franchise is desperate for a new start and a new direction.  The players are ready for a new voice and leader.  I’m just still not sure he is it.

If you need me, I’ll be on the fence for a while.

Leave a Reply

