A Weekend Without Football

Is still a weekend and a donut with no hole is a danish.

what a strange scheduling quirk this past weekend.  Neither Michigan, UConn nor the Giants had a game.  Really bizarre.  It’s almost as the people who make the schedule got together and planned it this way.  How did they know that I needed the two days to get some stuff done.

I found out that I have these two other people who live in my house.  Apparently they are called “family” and you are supposed to “spend time with them.”  This is a fairly common practice and one I am foreign too.  We actually went out together for dinner on Friday and shopping on Saturday.  I seriously can’t remember the last time we did that.  I’m sure Nikki and Avery liked it too.  I least I think they did.

Sunday was nice.  With no Giants game to take me away from my other duties, I was able to get some much-needed yard work done, with the help of the parents of course(they have a lawn mower, I do not.)  One strange tidbit though, my neighbor had a very strange request for me: powerwash my house before SHE puts her house on the market on Saturday.  Now, I’m not sure how a lack of mildew on my house will help her sell her house any quicker but she seems to think so.   Yeah, I can see a buyer falling in love with her house, willing to pay full price and then taking a glimpse at ours’ and back out because we have a little mildew on our siding.  I played along though and told her it was on the list of things to do and I’d try to get to it.  Of course, having a job that requires me to wake up at 2am, get home at 1pm, leave for soccer practice at 2, sometimes not getting home till after it’s dark, makes it kinda hard to sneak in powerwashing a house.  Also the fact I don’t own a powerwasher to powerwash said house also throws a kink into things.  With that being said, she said she may be able to power a washer from a friend of hers and I could then use that.  See, this is why I try to avoid my neighbors.

Anyway, the yard work got done, some new bushes were planted and the Halloween decorations were hung.  The night was capped off by a rousing discussion about the “occupy movement,” (don’t get me started, it lasted almost an hour and we all came to the conclusion that the country is in a steep downward spiral). 

I’d say overall, it was a pretty good weekend.  I’m hoping to get another one of those in again.  How’s March sound?

Leave a Reply

