It’s Maddening

My expectations yesterday were not really high.  It had been awhile since I last played golf and to add to that my first round with a new driver, a slight change in my swing and putting and walking 18 I figured nothing but frustration lie in wait for me.

As it turned out, I’ll never figure this game out. 

After my first drive and I use the term “drive” loosely (it was more like a seizure attached to a golf club)  and a resounding opening triple bogey, I never suspected that what was to follow would be my best round of the year.  It wasn’t my best score but whenever you can go out and shoot an 87 at Fox Hopyard after not playing a full round in about a month it feels really good.

Add to that the two birdies I got (1st time this year w/ 2 in one round) with the last one being a two-putt birdie (driver-driver to twenty feet on a 530 par 5) I am feeling really good about my game.

Why am I so upset about it then?  BECAUSE IT IS HAPPENING IN OCTOBER AT THE END OF GOLF SEASON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

GOD DAMN IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why the hell can’t I figure this stuff out in April!  Why does it take me six months to get my swing right just in time to put the clubs away!  Why does golf continuously treat me like a rag doll and why do I let it get to me?  And why do I keep coming back??  Well, the last ones easy, because of days like yesterday but the rest of the rant, Jesus the game drives me nuts.

So, I’m hoping that the weather can hold out and that November and December golf is in my future.  I really want to build on this and then maybe, just maybe I can carry the momentum into next season.

Then again Golf is an evil temptress.

 

One Response to “It’s Maddening”

  1. Key question: why do I let it get to me?

Leave a Reply

