Humpday Convo: My Middle Name

I think this is a great question. It's a little off from what I usually ask but I saw this and couldn't resist. You see, I have the best middle name. No, seriously I do. It is a name that has been passed down in my family for years except I have no idea how or why it started. I know that it originated over in Scotland before my grandpa immigrated over in the 1930's. Okay enough of the suspense, my middle name is Steel.

Yup, just like the metal compund. When I go over to Scotland in six years, that is one of the things that I want to get to the bottom of.

I realize I am one of the few people who actually like their middle name. This was a bone of contention when we were trying to decide what Avery's name would be. Marie is the traditional name on my side of the family for the first born girl. Nikki hated it so we decided ultimatly on Giselle. Reasons being 1) Nikki loves French names and 2) we both really loved the names.

I would love to hear the story behind your middle name, good or bad. Feel free and open up.

Powered by Plinky

One Response to “Humpday Convo: My Middle Name”

  1. When my mom was pregnant, my parents decided to name me Scott, but couldn’t think of a middle name. Sadly, two months before I graced the world with my awesomeness, my mom’s grandfather passed away. As a tribute to him, they decided to give me his name. Only for some reason, they didn’t like Scott William. So they decided to switch things up and go with William Scott (with no intention of ever calling me William). While I love my name, their choice led to a lifetime of people calling me William when they first meet me. Or even worse, some people call me Bill, thinking it’s ok to call someone you’ve never met by a nickname. On the plus side though… I love when people know me as Scott, only to find out months (or even years later) that William is my first name. Which, I swear to god, my father-in-law did AFTER Manda and I got married. Good times.

Leave a Reply

