Humpday Convo: Popping the Question

If you go to YouTube, there are literally thousands of creative ways that people came up with to ask their significant other to marry them.  This happens to be one of my favorites:

This got me to wondering how you asked or were asked to get married. 

Here’s how mine went down.  I asked Nikki to marry me on her birthday.  It was two weeks after the 9/11 terrorist attacks and I had started to evaluate what was important in my life.  I realized, that after 5 years of dating, that she was the one I wanted to spend the rest of my life with.  We had no money at the time so I could be spontaneous.  No need to get a ring here, I don’t believe in that practice anyway but that’s a topic for a different time.  What I did instead was I wrote it on her birthday cake.  Just a simple “Will you marry me?” laid out in icing.  It didn’t happen anywhere special, just the living room of our condo. 

It was perfect.  I’m not a big, over the top romantic type.  The more subtle and understated the better.  Nikki was thrilled and I was happy so that’s all that mattered.  8 1/2 years later and still going strong.

It’s your turn, the stage is yours.

Leave a Reply

