Humpday Convo: What My City/Town Is Known For:

GoodSpeed Opera House

I think we all have a little pride in our hometown. I know growing up that I was dying to get out of there but as soon as I lived at school in PA, I couldn't wait to get back to East Haddam. It's funny hearing how that sentiment is still strong today. There is just something about our town that draws folks back in. I love it and don't want to live anywhere else.

For being such a small town, it has a pretty big reputation. Of course it is known for the Goodspeed Opera House. Perhaps the most famous of off-broadway theaters on the East Coast. Little shows like Annie, Shenendoah and Man of La Mancha all debuted there.

A few other little things that make East Haddam unique: no stop lights in town and it is the largest town in CT based on land size.

Your turn!

Powered by Plinky

5 Responses to “Humpday Convo: What My City/Town Is Known For:”

  1. Enfield is the hometown of hockey “ok” Craig Janney. We also had, at one point more restaurants either per capita or per square mile than any other town in the country. We’re also one of two CT towns to have once been part of Massachusetts.

  2. Jay, I hate to be the voice of doubt but…I believe that there are a few CT towns larger than East Haddam. I believe that New Milford is actually the largest town area-wise in CT. If I recall correctly, EH is the 8th largest and tied with North Stonington.

    • there you go letting facts get in the way of a good story…… you are right though, New Milford is the largest, followed by Stratford and woodstock. Call me crazy but I swear we were taught that but maybe I am just misremembering

  3. Not as cool as it sounds, unless you like having a 3 McDonald’s, a Burger King, Taco Bell, Wendy’s and a Hometown Buffet within 1 square mile. You think I’m kidding.

Leave a Reply

