Humpday Convo: The Last Supper

Not to sound morose but what would be your choice as a last meal?  C’mon, you know you have thought about it.  If you had one last chance to eat the food you love what would your choices be?

Mine would start out with a pre-app of chips salsa and guacamole.  For an appetizer a bowl of lobster bisque and some Maryland crapcakes.  My main entrée would be a bone-in rib-eye (24 oz) cooked medium rare, garlic and cheddar mashed potatoes, a caesar salad, sautéed mushroom and onions in a reduced red wine sauce, creamed spinach and a fresh tomato salad.  Hey, it’s my last meal and I am starving.  For dessert a piece of my cheesecake and a piece of my wife’s caramel apple pie with a scoop of Guinness ice cream from the Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe.  A few more things, you can’t have a last meal without something to wash it down.  I’ll start with my homemade margarita.  A kettle one martini, extra dry w/ 4 olives next.  Followed by a glass of realllllllllllly good red wine and a Guinness and top the night off with a glass of 18-year-old Jameson and Johnnie Walker Blue.  Wow, I just made myself very hungry and thirsty.  There it is, that’s my meal and a little glimpse into my soul.

Your turn.

2 Responses to “Humpday Convo: The Last Supper”

  1. OK, let’s make this an all day thing.

    Breakfast: Challa French Toast from Rein’s in Vernon along with a nice Bloody Mary, some sausage and eggs.

    Lunch: Let’s go with a burger here. And we’re off to Plan B for the Bacon Cheese, paired with a Stone Ruination IPA. And while we’re at it, throw in a few buffalo wings.

    Supper (It’s a 4 meal day): Time to combine some of my favorite family meals. My Bubbe’s brisket, my mom’s meatballs and my mother-in-law’s stuffing. And to drink a nice glass of cabernet.

    Dinner: STEAK TIME, Jay, you nailed it with the bone-in rib-eye. Can’t think of anything better. I’ll go with a Big E Maine baked potato as my side along with a side salad drenched with “greasy spoon” italian dressing. And it can’t be a last meal without a few Harpoon.

    Dessert: Here’s where it gets tough. I’m going to have to go with Manda’s crackballs, my mom’s peanut butter bars, and a Reece’s Peanut Butter Cup Sundae from Friendly’s with double chocolate Ice cream. And I’ll round out the night the way my Dad always did, a nice dirty Tanqueray Martini with 3 olives while watching the Sox beat up on the Yanks.

    Now I can die in peace.

  2. hard to pick between shrimp cocktail, baked stuffed Maine lobster and steamers or escargot, roast duck with Foie Gras, mashed potatoes, Chocolate souffle. It really going to depend on who is doing the cooking.

Leave a Reply

