Out of Good Conscience

My daughter loves to read.  She has us read dozens of books a day.  Sometimes we end up reading the same book over and over again.  As much as we love the fact she is so into the written word, once in a while Mom and Dad need a change.  So whenever Avery brings over a new book to read, it is always an exciting moment.  Oh Boy, a book we haven’t read 217 times.  ( I haven’t decided yet if those last two sentences are sad or a good thing, maybe it falls somewhat in between. Ahhhh, parenthood) Anyway, this was the case last night.

Avery brought over this book for me to read:  .  What seemed to be an innocent touch and feel book had quite a surprise in store for me.  As i read the first page this line completely caught me off guard:

Let’s take a walk with Tilly Bee and see what we can see. Come into the world of the Land of Milk and Honey and give God thanks for all the things that He has made that are soft and fluffy as can be.

Yep, right there plain as day, GOD.  In a children’s book.  Without any indication that this was a religious book.  Needless to say I was pissed.  Every single page had a reference to god, he is great, praise him, etc.  First off if I believed in a singular god, what’s to say it is a he.  Don’t you think it would be some asexual being?   

It may seem like an insignificant thing but to someone who doesn’t fall into the trapfalls of religion and doesn’t believe in a or any god this is a big deal.  I can’t read her something that I don’t agree with.  She will make up her own mind but I swore I wouldn’t influence her in any way, pro or con.

It just pisses me off the gaul of the author to be so in-your-face with promoting their religious beliefs without ever indicating it anywhere on the book.  I have no issue with religious children books but lets come out front with it.  What if I was to write a kids book that promoted a godless universe and sold it as a regular kids book?  I would be lambasted. 

I have come up with a solution though.  I though about giving the book away or tossing it in the garbage.  No, that seems to extreme.  Instead anytime god is mentioned, I will replace it with Larry Bird.  Then its win-win for everyone.

5 Responses to “Out of Good Conscience”

  1. Li'l Em-Kel Says:

    Oscar Robertson is twice the god Larry Bird could ever hope to be.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel Says:

    Forgive me. That was a thoughtless and gratuitous potshot. Shoulda kept it to myself.

    • Not at all. I mean its a baseless claim. Big o while great can’t hold a candle to what the legend accomplished. O put up insane numbers on watered down nearly defunct NBA. Bird saved the league along with magic and jordan

  3. Li'l Em-Kel Says:

    I don’t know what I was thinking. Probably anybody who played for the Celtics in the last thirty years could have excelled when Oscar did, a time when the league was watered down with nobodies like Baylor, West, Chamberlain, Cousy, Russell, Lucas, Havlicek, Barry, Frazier, Jabbar, and a few others. The league that was run down and needed saving was the one Bird, Johnson, and Jordan rescued (sorta).

    • No, not every Celtic. I appreciate what Oscar was but frnakly he played in a league that was very top heavy in talent. Watered down was a bad choice of words. Thee were stars yes, but not a lot of deep talent and sure as hell no defense. Any quasi-athletic player could dominate, like Oscar, West, Wilt, etc. Every team now has athletes who could dominate at that time. Larry played during the high water mark of the league was one of its top three players and is a top five/six player of all time. How this turn to NBA history anyway?????

Leave a Reply

