Moved

I know thts how most of you feel after reading one of my posts, but this is totally different.  After months and months of searching, a relatively painless closing and weeks upon weeks of packing and tearing and painting we are finally in our new house.

There is no way we could have done it on our own.  From our excellent realtor who helped us find the house to our friends and family who sacrificed their weekend and more to lend us many hands.  The move was about as painless as you could hope for but I did have some interesting thoughts along the way:

1) We have a lot of crap.  It’s hard to imagine the amount of stuff anyone accumulates over a period of time living in one spot.  Most of it is Avery’s though.  You would think we had two babies with all the stuff she has.  Most of it clothes.  Here is a tip for all of you: when buying gifts for parents-to-be, take into consideration the living situation and the timing of the birthday.  We have so much 3-6 month summer clothes that it takes up an entire bin.  Avery was born in July, do the math.  We also have some 6-9 month weather clothes, again with the math.  Now, I appreciate all that was given, but let’s be a bit more resourceful.  Even now we are at the point where Avery doesn’t need more stuff.  She has more toys than she knows what to do with.  This goes for everyone, if you insist on getting gifts for grand kids, or friends kids or nieces/nephews etc.  and the parents say no more gifts, please respect that and just have what you were going to spend and put it away for college.  The parents will appreciate it.  Wow, that was a bit of a tangent, sorry.

2) Things never go as planned.  Like carpet getting installed 34 hours after it was supposed too or a cable guy trying to convince me not to get another hd box even though I wanted one only to be proven right later the next day meaning I have to call the company back to get a box here.

3) Snow and moving are not a good mix.  I think I spent more time shoveling paths on our two lawns so we could mover easier than the actual move took.  In the end though, it proved to be one of my best decisions ever.  Yep, it was that big.  Nice wide paths made the move a breeze.

4) Garbage bags make great suitcases.

5) Pizza and beer will always be the great motivator.

6) Knowing when to stop is just as important as knowing when to get after it.  A full nights sleep does wonders.

7) Always know where the coffee pot and coffee are packed.

8) Did I mention having great friends and family to help you?  If I did than it bears worth repeating. 

9) Smetimes you just need to rant.  I think I had three or four occasions this weekend when I just went off.  It’s good to know that my wife and mom just listen, nod their head, let me vent and take everything I say with a grain of salt.  After numerous moves, I think they get me.

10) Nothing feels better than finally unloading the car for the last time and realizing *fingers crossed* that it will be a long time before we do this again.

4 Responses to “Moved”

  1. Couple things: pictures soon and 8 ) is a smiley face with sunglasses, thats pretty cool.

  2. I think your Mom ‘got you’ long, long ago. A couple of moves had nothin’ to do with it.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel Says:

    You’re right about the amount of stuff. Our last move, from CT to FL, required its own huge semi to transport our goods. I asked the driver on delivery how much stuff was in there. Twenty-two thousand pounds, he told me. Eleven tons of stuff! I didn’t know whether to feel proud or ashamed. I did feel astonished.

    Also, I have moved six or seven times in my life. Each time I expected the process to be difficult – more difficult than the previous time. And each time I was mistaken. Every move was more difficult than I anticipated. Next time should be easier: the government and creditors will have taken about all I have. Peace at last!

Leave a Reply

