Humpday Convo

Thought about this question after hearing this gem Tuesday morning on my way into work:

I’m sure that he regrets this classic blowup now, but when you are in the moment and a tad emotional sometimes you tend to overreact.

I’ve been known, on rare occasions, to let my emotions get the best of me.  So, my question today is this:

When was your last classic out-of-your-mind eruption and what do you do to stop these moments now?

I think my last time was last year around christmas (maybe even that day) but Avery wasn’t sleeping much at night, Nikki and I weren’t sleeping much and the stress of the holidays just caught up with me.  Avery got no nap at all and was up a lot the night before and at the end of the day after hours of trying to calm her down, I finally freaked out and stormed out of my parents house.  It wasn’t a great moment but I was at my wit’s end.  Now I really just try to walk away from the situation, get by myself and just let it go.  These blow-ups aren’t good for you or the people around you.  I continue to try to fight these emotions when they pop up.  I think I am doing a better job at it, of course my friends and family may have a different view on it.

Your turn.

4 Responses to “Humpday Convo”

  1. I was thinking the same thing this morning when I heard this rant for the 83rd time in the last 24 hours thanks to the good folks at the 4 letter radio network (ESPN).
    I battle the same thing, especially in the “heat of the battle”. My problem is that I’m coaching a U12 Girls soccer team!! During one exasperating defeat last year, a few then 10 year olds were giggling about something on the bench while we were getting smoked on the pitch…I wheeled around and grunted something stupid about getting their heads in the game and supporting their teammates….meanwhile these young ladies must have thought (known) that I’m half nuts and that they were just analyzing the new lyrics of a Justin Beiber song…..they were 10 year old girls!! Why was I loosing my mind?? I wish I were less competitive by nature, but I can’t help that.
    Feel free to copy and paste this to all 34 parents of my team, so they know I’ve started therapy. All on the Brain of Jay website!

  2. it happens to me every damn day thanks to dealing with traffic out of hartford during rush hour. It still blows my mind how many horrible and inconsiderate drivers are on the road. And most of those people are yapping away on their cell phones. Can’t we get more strigent drivers tests so we don’t give a liscence to any idiot that takes the test? Because there are definitely a lot of people that should not be driving.

  3. Right the Christmas rant where you made us leave too. I still think your i’m never golfing again and I don’t want to talk about it was a classic.

Leave a Reply

