Humpday Convo

With tomorrow being Thanksgiving, today’s topic was really kind of a lay-up.

What are you thankful for?  Here’s the twist though:  you need to rank them in importance from 5 to 1.  This way you can’t just throw everything under the thankful umbrella.

5) My health.  I guess by industry standards I am considered overweight but I work out and eat well.  My cholesterol and BP are both great.  It’s because of this I can enjoy everything else so much.

4) My job.  I am so lucky to work in a place that treats me so well while compensates me for doing the thing I love.  It is a joy waking up everyday at 2am to come to work.  I am lucky that they let me work these hours so I can coach in the afternoon.  I am truly blessed.

3) My family.  From parents who are always there when you need them to brothers who are also great friends.  My extended family coast to coast and Nikki’s family.  It’s rare to get along with all of them and thee isn’t a black sheep in the bunch.

2) My wife.  She may be the most understanding and patient women I know and I am so thankful that she stands alongside me.  She is a wonderful mother and a great friend. 

1) Avery.  A beautiful, healthy, happy little girl.  She is always greeting me with a smile and a hug.  She makes any bad day good and any good day great.  She is truly the light of my life and I can’t imagine life without her.

I’d say I have a lot to be thankful for.

Your turn.

4 Responses to “Humpday Convo”

  1. no room for improvement on that. so, with family, health and success being covered I’ll look at the more global issues of existence.
    5. All those who came before us to create and invent the luxuries we now have: telephone, computer, internet, car, house, flush toilet, eye glasses, matches, central air.
    4. An evolutionary change that lowered our shoulders that allows us to throw. Can you imagine watching baseball game where no one on has a throwing arm. A whole team of Johnny Damon’s? (sorry, cheap shot)
    3. Opposable thumbs. Spilling your coffee every day would get old really fast.
    2. lowering of the larynx in a lengthened neck allowing for speech and language, even if it means we sometimes get stuck hearing Sara Palin’s constant whiny squelch. (quick change the channel to … anything else)
    1. The ability to reason and think. even if some people have forgotten they have that ability.

    What a dumb list. lets go back to family and health.

  2. 5. This blog question that allows me to shamelessly link to my own Thanksgiving blog post: http://www.joenesgarden.com/2010/11/thankful-for-sage/
    4. Good health that continues to allow me to do most of the things I want to do.
    3. All the life experiences – good and bad – that taught me how to be a parent and grandmother and wife and friend and daughter and sister and daughter-in-law and aunt and cousin, plus all the family and friends that allow me to play all these roles.
    2. My husband.
    1. My children and grandchild.

Leave a Reply

