Humpday Convo

Everyone growing up had a dream job.  Whether it be a policeman, fireman or doctor.  Some of us were lucky enough to fulfill our dreams.  For most of us though, somewhere along the way our dreams faded away and reality set in.  O the question today is:

What was/is your dream job and what helped/prevent you from realizing it?

Mine was a play-by-play sportscaster.  I worked all through high school thinking this is what I wanted to be.  I even went into college with this as my plan.  I would tape games then do the play-by-play into a tape recorder.  I practiced signature calls.  I watched enough sports to get a feel for it.  OK, I would have done that last one anyway, but this helps me justify it.  I even did some basketball games in college.  I loved all that went into it.  Unfortunately I just didn’t have the voice for it.  I heard myself back a few times and quickly realized that it just wasn’t a good tv/radio voice.  I could have gone to a voice and speech coach to work on it, but by then I had fallen in love with the production aspect if media.  I soon realized that is what I wanted to do.  So in a way you can say that my initial dream led directly into my current occupation which I love to do which in turn enabled me to coach.  Looking back on it, I am sorta glad it all worked out the way it did.

Your turn.

12 Responses to “Humpday Convo”

  1. I have dreams of making it big on the Senior PGA Tour.

  2. I dont know…You sound damn good when you are introducing the Haleeee Rayyyyy Noiseeeeeeeessssssseeeeeeeessssssssssss !!!

  3. My dream is to make it big on the Senior PGA Tour.

  4. For a long time, I wanted to be Keith Olberman and/or Dan Patrick. Then I realized that just because you’re in sports, doesn’t mean you’re not a giant tool. Now, I want to be Sam Malone minus the alcoholism and Diane.

  5. Not that Chinese beer is bad, just expensive to import.

  6. I thought this post asked about dream jobs?!

    Mine would be landscape designer. Had I known this when I was 17 or so my life might have been very different. Not complaining though … my life turned out pretty well and I’m happy with the way things are.

  7. racecar driver and/or tv director.

    • uhhhhh, not really sure how to respond……………feeling slightly uncomfortable. Thinking I will change subjects. 🙂

      • well, for the record i’d say neither was what i expected. both are fun career choices, but neither is particularly rewarding.

Leave a Reply

