Humpday Convo

*sorry, it’s a day late, wordpress never published this*

Yep it’s that time of week again.  Time for the series that is the topic of the online world.  The word of it is spreading like wildfire.  No need to check my facts, just trust the words that you read.  I mean it’s on the internet, it has to be correct.

I’m not sure what I have enjoyed more, coming up with the topics or waiting for the responses.  It has been fun seeing what answers my readers come up with.

Today’s question:  If you could invite any four people to dinner with you from any era, who would it be and where would you go?

For me it would be my father, Chuck Yeager, Mickey Mantle and Abraham Lincoln.  The first is obvious.  The second may be the greatest pilot ever.  The stories about the risks that he took as a test pilot would be priceless.  The Mick is my favorite ball player of all time.  I would love to hear how President Lincoln guided the country through its darkest days.  I just think this would be an awesome dinner. 

The place:  Frankie and Johnnie’s in Manhattan.  A great steak place on W. 45th St.  Nikki and I ate there once after a broadway show and I just fell in love with the food and the ambiance. 

Your turn.

6 Responses to “Humpday Convo”

  1. Ok, let’s do this.

    First off, no brainer, hands down, everyone saw this coming…. Harry Potter. He’s a literary hero. He doesn’t allow the hardship of his life to get him down. He’s strong in the face of danger. He cares deeply for his friends and puts the needs of others first. He always chooses what’s right over what’s easy. And oh yea, he’s a frick’n wizard!

    Second I’d pick author Ernest Hemingway. I have a love/hate relationship with him. I love him because he’s a genius and invented post modernism writing. He’s got this crazy angst and used his writings to heal what he witnessed during WWI. He broke the original writing plot of beginning middle end. And started writing stories that didn’t need a resolution, they just were. They didn’t have an ending with resolution because not everything in life has resolution. To Hemingway a conversation could be a setting, not a place. That said, he was seriously living in the dark ages about his ideals on women (even for a guy living in 1912). I’d love to talk him about his works but also I think we’d have a few good heated debates as well. He’d make for a great conversationalist and he’s very well traveled.

    For my third pick I’d like to meet King Louis IX (the 9th). He’s the only king of France to ever be made a Saint… thus making him Saint Louis. He’s supposedly a very distant relative to me and I’d love to meet him. I just think I’d need a translator because my French is ne pas beien.

    Finally I’d pick Teddy Roosevelt. He was the COOLEST president ever! He hunted buffalo just to prove he could. He hiked through the Amazon. He created the national parks. He’s way too cool for this century, which is way he’s not part of this one. Seriously though, the guy used to make his cabinet walk in a straight line on their walks. No matter what was in front of them they had to keep moving ahead. So like a lake, they went through it. Awesome.

    The restaurant: I’d pick my favorite place, the Chowder Pot. I could have gone with something more fancy but i love seafood and it’s causal enough for a good convo yet delicious enough that I think a former president and a king dubbed a saint can handle it for an evening.

    Runners up:
    Marty McFly, Chandler Bing…. actually all of the characters in Friends cause I love them. Seth McFarlane and Ferris Bueller… he was the hardest to give up.)

  2. Wow, never would have thought Hemingway. A plus, if he’s bored all you gotta do is liquor him up. Now that would be a fun dinner.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel Says:

    Marshall McLuhan tops my list. He had a lot of cool (and hot) insights back in the ’50s and ’60s, and I’m still chewing on them. Maybe he could help me figure it all out. Maybe he could explain. Maybe.

    I’d like to talk with Ted Williams for a while. Not only was he deeply passionate about hitting a baseball, he was articulate about it. I suspect he had an excellent baseball mind as well, and could elaborate on the intricacies of that most complex and demanding game.

    Finally, I’d like to step out of my own body and into another one, to become someone else for a while and go to my dinner and meet myself. The idea, of course, is to see myself as others see me. (I acknowledge that this could result in a suicide by proxy, but I’ll take my chances.)

  4. Li'l Em-Kel Says:

    And, oh yeah, the place. There’s a little tiki-type joint down here right at the top of old Tampa Bay called Jack Willie’s. They make great Reubens and pastrami sandwiches. The sun is warm, the beer’s cold, and the onion rings are Brobdingnagian. Former Yankee David Cone is an owner.

  5. Li'l Em-Kel Says:

    A quick review of your provocative conversation starter reminds me that you asked for four putative dinner guests. I only listed three so I’ll add one more. It would likely be a prominent mathematician like Pythagoras or Des Cartes or Erdos: somebody – anybody! – who could teach me how to freakin’ count to freakin’ four!

Leave a Reply

