Fantasy vs. Reality

An interesting debate that has cropped up across sports radio this past week:  Which would you be happier with your fantasy team winning or your real team winning.

I was shocked, shocked I tell you hearing the responses.  An overwhelming number of guys said that they would rather have their fantasy teams win.  Really?!?!?!?!  What kind of fans are you?  I’m sorry anyone that says that they rather have their make-believe team win rather than their real-life team win is on crack.

I play fantasy sports.  I love it.  It’s fun, entertaining and it adds another level of excitement to games.  But I never would choose a fantasy win over a Giants win.  This week I lost 3 out of 4 fantasy matchups (trust me, that is really rare.  I’m kind of a  good fantasy manager.)  Was I upset?  NO, because the G-Men had a convincing win over the Texans.  I will always take a real win over a fantasy win, unless it’s a championship match-up. Then money is on the line…….uh that is if I had money on the line………..right, it’s all for fun…………..trust me. 😉 

I’ve won fantasy championships.  They’re nice.  When the Giants have won their Super Bowls, especially the latest one (love that 18-1 record) I was euphoric for weeks.  It was such a natural high.  Same with the Red Sox and the Celtics.  Almost nothing in sports could top that feeling. 

I can’t believe that I am in the minority here.  There has to be more right thinking Americans out there that agree with me.  

Fantasy is fun, but reality is, well for a lack of a better word, real.  No one else outside your league or family knows if your team won in fantasy but when you walk down the streets with a Giants hat on, every knows you root for a winner. 

That sense of self is something you can truly be proud of.

Leave a Reply

