New Weekly Thing

Every Wednesday I want to pose an interesting topic of discussion to my readers.  I would love it to be interactive and all-inclusive.  The topics and questions will be wide-ranging and hopefully interesting.  The one problem I have is a title for it.  The column will appear every Wednesday if that helps fire those synapses. 

Here is todays:

What are your five favorite musical groups (band or person), your favorite song of theirs and why.  Here are mine:

#5) Led Zeppelin: Gallows Pole. 

Just a great song, great guitar and a song that gets me fired up.

#4) Pearl Jam: Hail Hail. 

A great song to work out to.  Also awesome live.

#3) Bruce Springsteen: Born to Run. 

Simply the greatest Rock ‘n’ Roll song of all time.

#2) Dave Matthews Band: Tripping Billies. 

My favorite song of all-time, my favorite quote of all-time, and one of my favorite activities all wrapped up in a nice little package.  It has everything a song should have.

#1) Red Hot Chili Peppers: Soul To Squeeze. 

The song just hits me in a way only a good song can.  I can’t really explain why.  From the first time I heard it, I couldn’t get enough of it.  When a song grips you and is beyond reason I think is a good definition of a great song.

6 Responses to “New Weekly Thing”

  1. Ok I’ll play. Here are five in no paticular order…

    Led Zeppelin-Stairway to Heaven..I love the build up to the gutair solo
    Jimi Hendrix-All Allong the Watchtower..no explanation required
    Black Sabbath-Iron Man..pumps me up..”The Wizard” is a close second
    Hall and Oats-Sara Smile..Reminds me of my childhood and my family
    America-Horse With No Name…That was my dads song…RIP

    Two that just missed…Guns and Roses-Sweet Child O’ Mine and Jethro Tull-Crossed Eyed Mary, Aqualung and locomotive Breath.

  2. America by Ray Charles – the absolute best version of the most patriotic US song – it always brings tears to my eyes.
    Wooden Ships by Crosby Stills Nash and Young – great harmony
    At Last by Etta James – no explanation needed here
    Number 5 could be just about any song by Sarah Vaughn, Eric Clapton, Bruce, CSN&Y, many by Joni Mitchell, Janis Joplin, Stan Getz, and anything composed by Mozart.
    Yes, I didn’t follow the rules, but sometimes rules are meant to be broken. There’s just so much good music that narrowing down to 5 or 15, or 50 leaves really great choices out.

  3. Ah, your first topic, stolen right from a John Cusack movie. I’m so proud.

    Here we go
    Blind Melon- Time and No Rain (too close to call)
    Kings of Leon- On Call
    Troubled Hubble- What We Do
    Bela Fleck & the Flecktones- Step Quiet
    Five is a rotating thing, right now I’ll go with the Whigs- Naked.

    • Damn it!! I hate that guy. Oh well, I love the Blind Melon ones. Kings is great and you knwo the respect I got for Bela. I don’t think I’ve heard the other two…….hmm I sense some research in my future.

  4. […] This is very similar to my first question I posted almost one year ago.  […]

Leave a Reply

