It's Sad, But………

First things first, what happened yesterday in Manchester was beyond horrific.  I can’t imagine what would go through a person’s mind before committing such a heinous act.

As awful as it was, does it make me a horrible person if I feel nothing for the victims and the victim’s family?  Have I worked in this business long enough that I am completely de-sensitized to crimes like this?  I never even blinked an eye when the news came across.  I never even thought “wow, this happened in Connecticut…”  There was no shock or surprise.  Things like this just don’t phaze me any more.  I haven’t felt heartache over an event since Katrina, and then I felt worse for the city than I did for the people.  The last time I truly felt bad about people involved in a tragic event was Sept. 11th, and then I was only working here for two years and never considered something like that happening in the U.S.

Does this make me soulless?  Does it make me heartless?  I don’t know but I know I should feel something for the victims, but I got nothing.  I refuse to fake it because that would be lying to myself and others.  It is a strange sensation to see a tragedy like this unfold in front of you and to feel absolutely nothing.

Yet on the other hand, I heard a story this morning about a mother losing her 5-month-old baby when she mistakenly left the child locked in a car for an entire day, and I felt so bad for her.  Go figure.

Maybe there is hope for me yet.

Jason Hendry is a morning director at NBC Connecticut.  He is an avid sports fan who also likes to dabble in politics, music, food, movies and other aspects of pop culture.  His true passions in life are his family and baseball.

Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/hendu11

3 Responses to “It's Sad, But………”

  1. How do you mistakenly lock a 5 month old baby in a car for an entire day???? I understand accidentally locking the kid in the car, doors lock accidentally, it happens. But wouldnt you figure out a way to open the car up immediately? Call 911? Call AAA? Hell break a window with a rock and fix it later. What did she forget she had a kid and then remembered when she came back to the car? “Opps, oh yeah i forgot, I have a 5 month old child. I have been wondering where i put him all day.” I am the opposite, I feel nothing for that woman, it is her own negligence that caused her to loose her baby. as awful of a tragedy it is to loose ones child, in the end it is her own fault. On the other hand, the victims of this shooting did nothing but go to work yesterday to provide for their families and now they have been taken from their families by a completely selfish and cowardly act. I feel horrible for their families and relatives. No one should ever have to go through what those families are going through today.

    • She dropped off her 3-yr-old at daycare and was going to drop off the 5-month-old at a different daycare. She was so over tired that she forget that she hadn’t dropped off her youngest. SHe said her brain “failed her” and went into her old routine. She went to work and just went through the day as normal. I guess I should reiterate what I meant, I feel bad that the kid died and the mom had to serve time on parole for a horrible mistake, I don’t feel bad that the woman forgot her kid, if that makes any sense.

  2. You simply could have developed a self-defense mechanism – the result of so many tragic stories in the news. Not every story will hit that sensitive spot, and the sensitive spot changes along with life’s experiences.

    We tend to channel away items that don’t directly impact us, friends, and family, particularly when stressed.

Leave a Reply

