Taxing

Just like everyone else in Connecticut, I just paid my annual car tax.  A nice $353 bill that I was “privileged” to pay.  I also get to pay a $85 registration bill this month.  That’s over $400 going into my car this week that I get nothing in return for.

I’m sure I am not the only one pissed off about this.  I have plenty of other things that money could go to.  This car tax is just asinine.  I wouldn’t be so upset about paying it if we actually saw some benefits from it.  We all continue to drive on some of the worst roads in the region.  I hope that our next governor, no matter which party, thinks long and hard about abolishing the car tax and doing something that should have been done years ago:  INSTALL TOLLS!!!!

Wherever we drive, we’re already paying ’em yet we let people drive freely through our state.  Anyone see something wrong with this logic?  Hell, you can’t breathe in Mass. or NY without paying a toll.  Meanwhile our taxes are going up while we continue to be the main and only route to the rest of New England.

Yes the initial price will be fairly large but I have to imagine the money would quickly balance out.  Put the toll booths on I-84, I-91, I-95 and all other local highways.  Charge out-of-state drivers a slightly higher fee than in-state residents.  The E-Z pass box is free.  When you register a car, you get a box and an account.  It would be up to the user to keep their account up-to-date.  It seems to me that this just makes sense for everyone involved. 

We could eliminate those stupid car taxes and still be making money, maybe even more money than before.  Yes, as residents we would have to pay the tolls but at a reduced rate.  The out-of-state drivers would pay much more and they would make up the difference. 

I think it is time for our elected officials to think outside the box when it comes to our state’s financial situation.  All ideas need to be welcomed.

Jason Hendry is a morning director at NBC Connecticut.  He is an avid sports fan who also likes to dabble in politics, music, food, movies and other aspects of pop culture.  His true passions in life are his family and baseball.

 Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/hendu11

Leave a Reply

