Time for a Change

Now just because I am proposing this doesn’t make me anti-american or anything.  In fact I think it shows just how much I love this country.  I think now is the right time for a change.  It’s time to change the way others look at our country and I think it starts with the national anthem. 

The Star Spangled Banner may be one of the lamest national anthems out there.  It’s tough to sing, tough to play and does nothing to glorify our country.  In fact it’s just a song about a fight during the War of 1812.  Do we really want a suped-up war song as our anthem???  I know I don’t.  Just compare our song to Canadas’.  That one blows us out of the water.   

I think we need an anthem that reflects what our country is.  A diverse and beautiful land.  Not one that glorifies war.  I thought of this last night while watching, of all things, a HBO sports documentary on the Broad Street Bullies.  Before one of their Stanley Cup final games in Philly, one player suggested they played something other than the SSB because he noticed people getting up and moving during the singing.  He thought a different song would fire up the crowd.  This was the song he choose: .  It’s nice but the whole “god” part rubs me the wrong way.  (same for the Pledge, but that’s a whole other argument…)

My choice and I think is the only logical one is this:  .  A wonderful song sung by a true american icon.  Obviously he strung it out for artistic purposes, but it could be shrunk down and sung in a reasonably short amount of time.  Hell, the current anthem can take up to 2 1/2 minutes to sing and most of the time it is brutalized.  America the Beautiful gives me chills every time I hear it.  The other two don’t and I think the National Anthem of this country should bring that feeling out of everyone. 

I know that there is a slim chance this little blog could start up a huge revolt over this, but hey it’s good to get it out there.

2 Responses to “Time for a Change”

  1. I can’t say I necessarily disagree with you, but watch this and tell me you don’t get chills. It’s all about context.

Leave a Reply

