A New Venture

Over the past month or so I have started to explore what is the seemingly endless world of Twitter.  So far, I really enjoy it.  It makes following my favorite sports team much easier.  I can get Red Sox, Celtics, Giants and Michigan updates on almost an hourly basis.  It may seem a bit like information overload, but I can pick and choose what I want to read.  It also gives me some insight into the teams that I may not get from a newspaper or website.

I know what some of you may be thinking:  Who has time to consistently update their daily life and frankly who cares?  Well you are right.  I don’t sent tweets about my daily mundane rituals but if something interesting pops up I may.  I can send out this blog over my twitter feed and it also allows me to keep in touch with my college friends. 

The world headquarters is also elbow deep in its own tweeting world.  It enables producers and on-air talent to send out news stories at a moments notice.  It also lets them re-tweet any news that is sent to them through their followers.  They are even starting to get more of us “behind-the-scene” folks to get more involved letting us increase our coverage of the state.

This seems to be the future.  I though might as well ride this wave rather than have it swallow me up and leave me on the ocean floor. 

So, if you are interested, here is the link to follow me: hendu11, the station: NBCConnecticut, Ryan Hanrahan, Gerry Brooks, Debra Alfarone, our morning assignment editor Dani Poulin, our new web manager Bob Conners and Bob Maxon.

The best part, it is all free.  Hope to “tweet” ya later.

4 Responses to “A New Venture”

  1. Jay “I’m never joining facebook” Hendry has joined twitter? I almost fell out of my chair!!!!!

  2. not only joined twitter, but apparently addicted to twitter as well! Maybe we should stage an intervention…

  3. good grief Charlie Brown

Leave a Reply

