Valentine's Day=Scam

Thats right, I said it.  I know all you guys out there, and even some of you ladies agree with me.  The day is dumb.  Also, lets stop calling it a holiday.  I swear it is only in existence for the jewelers, florists and chocolatiers in the country.  These are the main benefactors of the almost $18 billion spent on this day.

That’s right, $18 BILLION!!!  Imagine if we deep-six the day and put all that money toward something worthwhile.  Like maybe education, the deficit, healthcare reform.  Something better than stuffed bears and crappy candies.

Why the hell do I need a day to show my wife how much I love her??  I think that it is almost more insulting that you have to be told to celebrate your love on a certain day.  I mean are guys that dumb??  I like to show my love for my wife year-round in subtle ways.  Which has more meaning:  a dozen roses delivered on the 14th or a random bouquet sent on a random day for no apparent reason?  I’ll go with the unexpected over the cliche’ any day.

I laugh at all the saps having to go out and get gifts for their wives or else they’ll be in the dog house.  Now that’s a solid base.  “Buy me something or I’ll be mad at you…..”  what up wit dat??

Now, over the years I have broken Nikki down to expect jack squat on the 14th.  No chocolates, no flowers, no nuthin’.  I don’t even plan on celebrating it with my daughter.   That is how much I despise this day. 

C’mon guys, I know I’m not the only one out there.  Now is the time to stand up to Hallmark and Proflowers!!!  Now is the time to take back this day!!!  Lets eliminate this day from the calendars!!!!!  I don’t need no hanging piece of paper to tell me what day to love my wife more than any other day.  I’ll show it in other ways like: making her lunch every day, making dinner and doing the dishes every night so she can spend more time with her daughter, making breakfast for the family on Sundays, shoveling and cleaning of her car in the winter, etc.  Those are better ways to show how much you care.  The little things. 

Lastly, for all you women (and maybe some men) who are cursing me and calling me a bad husband or a jerk; go ahead and ask my wife about me.  She’ll tell you I’m no joke.

 

-Jason-

6 Responses to “Valentine's Day=Scam”

  1. wow lucky me, no valentine’s day and you go awy on a guys golf weekend on my birthday… :p

  2. and baseball on our anniversary- you areucky im so understaning !)

  3. I think it is safe to say we are both lucky 🙂

  4. February 14 should be known as “Singles’ Awareness Day” cuz we singles don’t give a s**t about Valentine’s Day. While the “saps” are out having to shell out the big bucks to get a gift the significant other, singles are laughing all the way to the bank on that day.

  5. Jeez, I thought I stepped in it with my weatherman post. Good luck cleaning off your shoes. 🙂

  6. I invite fights and disagreements, makes you feel alive. I say bring it on. BTW, that post was fan-freakin-tastic. Some great comments. I can only imagine you sitting there writing a reply and then realizing who you are, erasing it and for a brief moment cursing yourself for being on TV

Leave a Reply

