Reconnecting

I don’t have a whole lot of regrets in life.  I am happy with the decisions I have made and the path they have led to.  My one big regret is not staying connected with my college professor, advisor and mentor Tony “Doc” Mussari.

He was the Communications Dept. chair at King’s College in Wilkes-Barre, PA.  He really loved his job and took his role as teacher very seriously. 

He was so hands on, in the classroom and out.  After my 1st semester during my junior year I had a 1.8 gpa.  Lets chalk it up to my first real taste of “living on my own.”  He pulled me aside to talk about it.  Now, he had never had me as a student in a class, but he realized something needed to be done.  He talked to me for a good while.  Never one to raise his voice (unless really necessary), he had a way to get what he meant across.  This was a turning point for me.  I realized that another semester like that not only would be bad for me, but a huge disappointment for him as well.  The next three semesters I made the Dean’s list.  I don’t think that would have happened without that little talk.

He knew where I was coming from.  I had lost my dad when I was 14, he had lost his when he was younger.  He must have felt that a little man-to-man was needed. 

His classes quickly became my favorites.  He treated them so much like “real world” situations.  I believe those classes helped prepare me for the world of local news.  I felt two steps ahead because of the way he treated and interacted with us during his Practicum and Seminar classes.

So, the fact I had lost touch with him really bothered me.  It wasn’t anyone’s fault,  sometimes life just gets in the way.  Well, a few weeks ago an email popped up and it was from him.  Somehow, someway my new email address got to him and he included it in this mass mailing. 

I shot him a quick note yesterday about what has happened over the past ten years or so.  As I remember, Doc replied just as quickly with a follow-up (he always believed in getting back to his students promptly, funny how as much as things change, they always stay the same…..) 

It’s so great to get back in touch with someone who had such a huge influence on what I am today.  The lessons he taught still resonate with me now.  Even in his retirement, Doc is spending his time teaching and growing.  This is the website for his newest project: The Face Of America.  Take a look, it’s a very interesting project. 

I’ll tell you what, a few more things like this and I may give this internet thing a serious look.

One Response to “Reconnecting”

  1. That’s so cool. I’m glad you and Doc are in touch once again.

Leave a Reply

