My Second Job

Job #1 of course is my directing duties here at the New and Improved Peacock.  I job I love and take very seriously. 

Job #2, I thought, was my baseball coaching gig at Hale-Ray HS.  Well, it turns out that’s been bumped to #3 for now.

My new #2, a bed.  Yep that’s right, a sleeping apparatus.  Humanus Beddia I think is the latin phrase for it.  Roughly translated: Human Bed.  In dealing with our first of countless child sicknesses, my wife and I realized quickly, ya gotta do what ya gotta do.  For me, that was transforming into a cot for Avery(in case you were wondering, I’d be an autobot.  Along with a dresser, nightstand, armoir and blanket chest we’d form Boudoir-Bot, the ultimate furniture menace…….sorry, went off ona bit of a tangent there 🙂 )

Anyway, as I was saying, Avery has been sick with an upper respiratory thing w/ an onset of an ear infection.  The most comfortable(and only) way she can sleep is on her chest with her head elevated.  Well, since there isn’t a great (or safe) contraption inveted yet that fits into a crib, the options are limited.  So, I become a bed.  She slept on my chest for 2 1/2 hours yesterday afternoon while Nikki got some much needed shut-eye (32 straight hours can make anyone tired) then last night another 4 hours. 

Oh the sacrifices we make.

I’ll make sure to store this away for when she tells me how much she hates me when she’s 13.

Leave a Reply

