Cinco De Mayo

I alway thought that it was the celebration for Mexican Independence.  That was until today.  That’s when I learned it is the celebration of the Mexican’s Army unlikely defeat of…..wait for it…….THE FRENCH ARMY in 1862.  Really?  they celebrate beating the French Army???  That’s like the Globetrotters celebrating the anniversary of their first win over the Washington Generals. 

C’mon.  Everyone has had a chance of beating the French.  If every country had a day to celebrate that fact we would be having a year-long party.  Hell, I think even the Canadians have had their way with the French at some point(OK, that may be a stretch.)

Just to have my own holiday, I think I will march into Paris with a few of my compadres and take over the country.  Then I will have a national holiday just for me.  It will be in August(needs a three day weekend, don’t you think?)  How about 8-10.  One it’s a good date, and two it would take me about 8-10 minutes to finish the job. 

All I need is a few volunteers, who’s with me??

138442976_kbjcc-m

6 Responses to “Cinco De Mayo”

  1. If you could move the invasion up a week, I wouldn’t mind celebrating my birthday on the Champs-Elysees, which would, of course, be renamed for moi.

  2. Ha You are both hilarious! GB Boulevard just doesn’t have the same ring to it- and i don’t think they’ll change the song!

  3. joenesgarden Says:

    Bien sur, mon fils is … how you say … full of himself? Perhaps he should try visiting France before he calls for her overthrow?

    Je suis desolee, Gerry, I’d rather stick with Champs-Elysees

  4. I don’t think he’d make it past the French Foreign Legion!!!

Leave a Reply

