A Day in the Big Apple

Yesterday, Nikki and I spent the afternoon in NYC.  We had a nice lunch and went to see the closing show of Young Frankenstein.  A fantastic, hilarious show that was worthy of all the accolades it received.  It was a unique experience being at a closing performance.  The energy level was through the roof, the audience was loud and at the end the lead actor, Roger Bart, gave a tear-filled good bye speech.  That was not the highlight of the afternoon though. That came at dessert after lunch.

Nikki came up with the idea of going to Juniors, the restaurant known for their “World Famous Cheesecake.”Now. this cheesecake has been featured numerous times on various food shows.  Bobby Flay even had a “throwdown” against their cheesecake, and even he lost, yep, the great Bobby Flay.  Now, I’m not one to brag, but I make a pretty damn good cheesecake.  In fact, one might say, I make the best cheesecake, in the world(oh, that’s right, I’m going global!!!!)  I have matched up mine against every other cheesecake that I have had, and none of them came close.  Only two are even in the same ballpark.  The first one was the slice I had at Frankie and Johnnies, a few years ago in NYC, and the second was yesterday at Juniors.  I can say, that without a doubt, my cheesecake is better then the best.  Junior’s was fantastic, but something was missing.  You see, I make mine with a graham cracker crust with a fair share of butter.  Junior’s crust, is well, pedestrian.  I believe the actual cake part of the two are so close in taste, but the crust separates the contender from the pretender.  It feels good to have my self-proclaimed crown secured.   So, I am throwing down the gauntlet(which is easy for me to do since I highly doubt any of Juniors employees read this blog)  I challenge Juniors to a cheesecake cook-off.  I have all the faith in the world that mine would hold up and I would officially have the title of the “World’s Best Cheesecake.” 

Bring it on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 Responses to “A Day in the Big Apple”

  1. Jay's Mom Says:

    I’m backing you up on this brag. Your cheesecake is, without a doubt, the best I have ever had. You carry on this family tradition quite well.

  2. We saw “Young Frankenstein” about a year ago. Great fun. “Nice knockers.”

Leave a Reply

