Shameful journalism

and I use the term journalism very loosely in this case.  I’m sure many of you are aware of the disturbing story out of a Connecticut middle school about kids playing “The chocking game.”  If not, here is the link to catch you up.  There are numerous ways to cover a story like this, but even a quasi-intelligent person understands when the line is crossed.

This morning, and I am almost sure last night, WFSB, Channel 3 in Connecticut felt that it was right and in good taste to show video of kids actually playing this game, ON THEIR NEWSCASTS!!!!!!!  Are you freaking kidding me???  Where the hell are their heads?  How can a responsible producer, directer, anchor, or anyone else involved in a newscast feel that showing video of kids performing this act is the right thing to do?  Do they realize that kids have died from doing this stupid stunt?  Do they know what it entails?  Do any of them have kids and if they do would they want them seeing this on TV?  Yes I realize it is widely available to the Internet savvy, but to make it so easy for a young, impressionable teen to view this is sickening.  How can these folks actually feel good about this?  How can the people who get their news from Channel 3 actually trust and respect them?  I can guarantee you that would never make air in any of my shows and I know for a fact that no one, and I mean no one that I work with would ever put that video on air!!!!  I am proud of the men and women I work with and their journalistic integrity, and yet at the same time completely embarrassed that someone in my industry feels that is OK to show.

Channel 3 may get more viewers then us, but one thing is for sure, at least I can feel good about how we report the news and as viewers, you can feel good that the news you are watching from Channel 30 will never stoop to levels that classless!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

