Jay: Why???

Right now I am watching the Today Show as they follow a crazy man walk across a wire 13 stories high, then bike backacross, in Newark NJ.  Crazy is the only way to describe anyone who does this sorta thing.  He is making the most of it though, like any showman he is relishing the spotlight, he just sat on the rope and called the Today Show to talk to the anchors.  What drives people to do these crazy stunts?  What drives us to watch people attempt stunts like this?  Our sick infatuation with disasters?  Do we love seeing people succeed or do we love seeing people fail?  I guess there are things about people I’ll never get.  Damn he did it, he didn’t fall.  Oh well, I guess I know where I fit in now.

Leave a Reply

