Lone Survivor

Yesterday, I had the experience of going to the theaters to see this movie.  The only word I can use to describe the movie: Intense.

As many of you this movie is an adaptation of the book by the same name: Lone Survivor.

I read this book about a year ago and I couldn’t put it down.  This is one of many books that I have read lately about Navy Seals and their missions.  Trust me, it’s not because I secretly desired to be one.  They are the top 1% of 1% of men.  I read these books to try to understand how and why they do what they do.  I read it as a form of respect for the sacrifices that they made and continue to make.  Many of the books start with what it’s like for these men to go through the BUD’s training and what they have to endure just to make it out and earn their trident.  I don’t think anyone can question the methods of training that happens in BUD’s, it is a proven system that shows its’ benefits on every mission.  This one was no different.  The story of fight, pride, anger, sacrifice and ultimately death and survival are what makes this book and story stand out above the rest.

I will warn you, if you are squeamish in any way or do not like violence and war, don’t go see the movie.  Read the book instead.  It is that graphic and in your face.  The director Peter Berg really does an amazing job of putting the viewer in the middle of the gunfight.  I’m not sure any other hollywood director could make this movie.  There are no hollywood-style stunts or special effects.  The action in the movie is just like it’s described in the book.  The cinematography is just outstanding and in this case really helps tell the story.  But it is violence.  Normally, movie violence doesn’t bother me.  This was different though.  Probably because I knew that the graphic violence was so real.  Since I read the book, I knew, for the most part, what was it going to be like.  I saw the movie with my step-father and I think the violence took him aback a bit.

While there wasn’t a lot of people in a 2pm showing on a Monday, the silence after the movie was over was deafening.  Not one person said a thing.  I know for myself, it was tough to catch my breath.  It’s an emotional movie and it wears on you.  I described it this morning as the best movie I will probably never see again.  I don’t think I want to go through that for two hours.  Now, I’ll go back and read the book again just to piece together the missing pieces, but it would take a lot for me to see the movie one more time.  Please, don’t take this as a recommendation to not see it, that couldn’t be further from the truth.  I think it’s important to watch the movie and realize that there are men out there who do this for our country.

There are parts of the movie and book that really piss you off.  Without going into too much details, there are points that these warriors actually have to debate how their actions will be perceived back in the states.  It’s sad that things have gotten to this point.  These men are trained to be the best of the best.  Truly, the greatest soldiers in the world.  They have their instincts honed to be razor-sharp.  In no way should anyone question their gut feelings and their instincts in a war zone.  Especially people who have never, ever stepped into their boots.  I know that whatever they do, they will do whats best for their team, their mission and their country.

Reading books written by the men who lived through these missions and wars gives me a new appreciation for all the service men and women who make the ultimate sacrifice for their country.  This is one of the many things that make our country so great.  There are men and women who volunteer to defend what is so great.  they volunteer to protect you and I without ever asking for anything in return.  I know that as a country we don’t do enough for our military members.  These should be some of the more respected members of our society and I think they tend to get cast aside because our political view doesn’t agree with the war they were fighting in.  It’s not like they had a choice, to them it’s a job.  That’s a different subject for a different day.

I am so glad that this movie was made.  It is unlike anything ever put on the big screen and I can say that fairly confidently.  It is a true representation of the book and it’s description of the war.  To get the true back story, I highly recommend reading Lone Survivor.  If it doesn’t make you think and reflect than I am truly sorry for you.

Finally, to all the men and women who put themselves into the face of danger and terror everyday for my freedom, Thank You.  I don’t take you for granted and as small of a blog that this is, I hope that doesn’t take away from the sentiment.  You are all truly the best of the best and it’s an honor to live in this country that you defend every day.

One Response to “Lone Survivor”

  1. joenesgarden Says:

    I know how much it takes for you to write such praise for a movie .. all who read your post should seriously consider either reading the book, seeing the movie, or both. I am.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 529 other followers

